MBA India

Languages in India


Search jobs

India has 22 official languages that are spoken in all the different regions of the country. Modern Standard Hindi is the most recognized and the one people from different backgrounds choose to communicate.

The Constitution of India makes clear that the major official language of the country is Modern Standard Hindi in 1956. The idea was to make Hindi the one language to be spoken by the central government at some point, unfortunately an important number of people did not want Hindi to be before their own languages in the government so this has made it impossible to eradicate English from the country.

Indio-European languages together with Indo-Aryan languages are two of the most important linguistic families in which all idioms in India are centered. Over 70% of all languages spoken in the country derive from these two linguistic families.

India does not have such thing as a "National Language" and there are over 1600 languages in India, a stunning number for a country.

Every single State in India can choose its own official language(s): one more reason why not to consider Hindi as a national language.

The following languages are considered official in the country:

• Assamese/Axomiya, which is spoken in: Assam
Arunachal Pradesh

• Bengali, which is spoken in: West Bengal
Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Some areas of Assam

• Bodo, which is spoken in: Assam

• Dogri, which is spoken in: Jammu

• Gujarati, which is spoken in: Dadra and Nagar Haveli

• Kashmiri, which is spoken in: Jammu

• Konkani, which is spoken in: Goa

• Maithili, which is spoken in: Bihar

• Malayalam, which is spoken in: Kerala
Andaman and Nicobar Islands

• Manipuri, which is spoken in: Manipur

• Marathi, which is spoken in: Maharashtra
Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu
Madhya Pradesh

• Nepali, which is spoken in: Sikkim
West Bengal

• Oriya, which is spoken in: Orissa

• Punjabi, which is spoken in: Chandigarh

• Sanskrit, which is a non-regional language

• Santhali, which is spoken in: Bihar

• Sindhi, which is a non-regional language

• Tamil, which is spoken in: Tamil Nadu
Andaman & Nicobar Islands

• Telugu, which is spoken in: Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Andhra Pradesh

• Urdu, which is spoken in: Jammu
Andhra Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh

• Hindi has an important official status in these states:
- Bihar
- Delhi
- Haryana
- Arunachal Pradesh
- Uttar Pradesh
- Himachal Pradesh
- Chhattisgarh
- Jharkhand
- Madhya Pradesh
- Rajasthan
- Uttarakhand

Hindi Language

Standard Hindi has the status of Official language in India and Official language of the Central Government and it is called by different names, in some regions it is known as Manak Hindi, or Literary Hindi. This language is derived from khariboli and it had its first official status during the Mughal Empire. Because of its origin Hindi is very similar to Urdu and the government had to standardize the language by giving it specific orthography, diacritics, etc.

This language is spoken by a large number of people, and estimated of 180 million people throughout the country. Its vocabulary is derived from Sanskrit. The main groups when it comes to vocabulary are:

  • Deshaj (onomatopoetic words).
  • Tatsam (very similar spelling as to that in Sanskrit).
  • Ardhatatsam (words from Sanskrit with different sounds).
  • Tadbhav (words from Sanskrit with different spelling).
  • Videshi (words from different foreign languages).
Due to the vast population of India, to have only one language seems to be an imminent need, boards of education emphasize on the need of teaching through only one language, and this can be a serious problem for many children in order to advance in education if they do not master Hindi first. Still, the government has not been able to find a solution due to the large population of the country and the variety of both culture and languages

Back to:
MBA India
MBA Abroad